Antidote to My Quarter Life Crisis

8 Mar

It’s been a rocking roller coaster of a year (well mostly six months…but it feels weird to say a rocking roller coaster of a half -year) . I packed up my belongings and moved across the country for the first time, to a city where I knew not a soul, and started my first full-time professional job ever. So basically I became an adult.

And boy has it been hard. About 33 times a week I find myself wondering, “What am I doing with my life? Is this really it, one desk job after another for the next fifty to seventy something years of my life? I mean ya I have the brains and skills to land a nice desk, the kind in the corner office with the plush chair, but it still means I’d just be another drone helping another company make more stuff or increase share prices. Where is the value?” At this point my inner dialogue starts to hone in on the central question– “If this isn’t what I want to be doing with my life, then what is? I mean what is the point of any of this?” and that’s where I draw a blank. Well not really because my brain basically never shuts up (hence this experiment with blogging) but my inability to answer this questions often leads to a depressive whimper and bleak outlook on my future.

Well things have been getting better. My job has picked up as I finally am starting to feel as if I’m in a position to make contributions and not just execute on other peoples’ brilliant or not so brilliant ideas. And I even have some vague plans about my future, which entail a move back to the mother country sometime next year. In the meantime I came across a brilliant little quote by a DJ Patil in the magazine Fast Company.

“At the end of the day, you have two things: your energy and your intellectual curiosity…If you’re willing to apply them, try to add value to the world, the possibilities are so endless.”

There is a level of undying optimism in this perspective that I love and generally have, but at some point in the last six months think I’ve misplaced. I think Patil’s quote coupled by the lyrics in David Myles’ song When It Comes My Turn is just the antidote I need to my own Quarter Life Crisis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

